Point, Counterpoint and Counter-Point-Counterpoint

I had about a million different blog posts that I thought I could write up today as I sit in an empty computer lab, waiting for anybody to come but knowing nobody will because it’s finals and people just don’t want to be here. However, instead of use my time effectively and expressing my own opinion on a matter, I thought I would link you to three other opinions regarding what Peace Corps is. I do favor one, but I won’t tell you which one, though I am not as pessimistic on the subject as many people might think.

  1. The first piece, a blog post by journalist Nicholas Kristof, proposes a program called Teach for the World and briefly makes some comments on why he feels Peace Corps is inadequate in this day and age.
  2. The second piece is a response to Kristof’s by John Brown, who has a postfixed title of, “Adjunct Professor of Liberal Studies, Georgetown University,” which already leaves me with a bitter taste. I won’t tell you which post I agree with, but I will most certainly tell you which I one I do not, and it would be his. In response to claims about the education level of Peace Corps volunteers, I ask him to take a comprehensive survey of Georgetown asking, for example, who Gutenberg was and see how many of his students can answer that one correctly. Then, instead of picking on Peace Corps, maybe pick on America as a whole. Of course, being one of the instant-gratification masses myself, I would have to conclude such a request with kthxbye and maybe misspell everything; possibly get rid of vowels.
  3. The final article is a blog post composed by RPCV Peter Hessler that found its way onto the New Yorker. He responds to both Kristof and Brown.

Also, if I am taking the time to link people all around, please head over to fellow PCV Paul’s blog post about teaching and corruption where he also links to a good analysis by the World Bank (I guess they can do good work…) regarding what they call, “quiet corruption,” and it’s impact on development. Happy reading everybody!

Powered by ScribeFire.

Comments Off on Point, Counterpoint and Counter-Point-Counterpoint

Filed under A Category Other Than Uncategorized

Comments are closed.